overcoming unwanted intrusive thoughts

overcoming unwanted intrusive thoughts

I have been battling pretty awful OCD for roughly 2 years now. E-mail after purchase. The obsessions are the unwanted thoughts and images in your head, relating to the particular type of intrusive thoughts that you get and the compulsions are the things you do to try to cope with the thought. I now know that dealing with intrusive thoughts is never going to be easy, but this is the only place I have found any information which actually understands the problem, and shows the way - as challenging as it is - to recovery. You’ll also learn why common techniques to get rid of these thoughts can backfire. Read honest and unbiased product reviews from our users. I particularly liked the myth buster chapter about thoughts, because a lot of the myths I actually believed were true. They can be quite disturbing. The authors’ clear and distinctive voice should be widely heard by cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) clinicians, and by those engaged in an ongoing and unrelenting struggle with undesirable ruminations.”, “Tens of millions of people have bothersome intrusive thoughts, and most often these thoughts are so unacceptable or embarrassing that many people have trouble telling anyone about them—even their closest family members or friends. It uses a CBT-based approach to overcome all types of thoughts. My family tries to empathize but when I try to explain it to them, they are very confused as to why I can't shake it off , distract myself or try to be stronger. But this book may have quite literally saved me. The Mindfulness Workbook for OCD: A Guide to Overcoming Obsessions and Compulsions Using Mindfulness and Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (A New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook), OCD Workbook: Your Guide to Breaking Free from Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (A New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook), Everyday Mindfulness for OCD: Tips, Tricks, and Skills for Living Joyfully, Brain Lock, Twentieth Anniversa